One year on.. 

Tomorrow marks a year since I was officially diagnosed with Crohn’s disease – we were aware of it earlier but Thursday 12th March 2015 is when it became offical. 

In the consultants room that day she said 7/10 people with Crohn’s disease require surgery in the first two years – I remember thinking it was maybe an exaggerated statistic and didn’t give it much thought, I was more concerned with the growing list of meds I would be taking. 

10 days later I got sepsis, I seen the emergency surgeon and escaped the need for an operation I was treated with the ‘demestos’ of antibiotics. Relief wasn’t the word. All through the past year has been numerous complications, medications not working and really growing sicker as I tried to persevere hoping things would just get better and the threat of surgery many times. 

It has been about surviving not living, getting through one day at a time. I’ve spent Christmas, New Years, Mother’s Day etc in hospital- racking up over 60 nights in hospital and many many appointments. 

The final straw came when I had anaphylactic shock and ng feeding failed. Tonight I moved to the surgical ward – the plan is on Monday I become one of the 7/10 people needing surgery in the first two years.

  
It has been a whirlwind of a year, there has been the best of times and the worst. I’m thankful for the people who have listened to the ranting and celebrated the good times! 

This weekend will be the longest ever but excited to start living again and not just surviving! 

 
 

3 thoughts on “One year on.. 

  1. Praying for you. Remember long slow breaths! We were actually talking about you at lunch today! Sometimes the worst thing we can think of can be the best in the long run.

    Like

Leave a Reply

