Frustration 

I think the biggest emotions for me in this crazy rollercoaster of Crohn’s and complications has been frustration.

My personality is I want to conquer everything and I want it done yesterday but quite frequently my body throws a huff and then things don’t go to plan and it feels like one step forward and three steps back. This week I am down with another infection, off work sick for a few days and feeling the frustration.  

I get frustrated when I have so much hospital time, when I have to cancel plans, when I’m not well enough to work and when things that were so easy before seem nearly impossible now. 

I’m stubborn so I do push myself a lot to have a new “normal” but with that comes a loss is identity. I am not the same person I was even last year. Recently I got reminded that illness can take some things away from me but I am still a daughter, a sister, a teacher, a friend amongst other things and no illness can change that. 

Some days I realise that my illness has opened new doors. I never imagined I would be filling out UCAS to apply for uni next year and I wouldn’t have met some amazing people. 

Days that I am frustrated and feel like I am getting nowhere it’s important to remember to just master one day at a time and do it again the next day… 

One thought on “Frustration 

Leave a Reply

