Dear 2016…

It’s been one heck of a year. 

2016 began in hospital – New Years Eve 2015 is one I’ll not forget in a hurry, I had tests to see how well my stomach and bowel were working and it turned into a frank discussion. I was informed the biggest decision I would make in the year ahead was a stoma bag or a body bag. I’ve always appreciated this honestly from medical staff. 

Bringing in a new year in hospital I knew little of what was ahead of me and that was probably for the best. I knew I would be getting an NG feeding tube to help with nutrition (it was the reason I spent Christmas in hospital!). If someone told me of the events that would follow I would have been back tracking into 2015.

You could never prepare yourself for anaphylaxis reactions, weeks in hospital, TPN feeding, 2 major surgeries, complications, vac machines, post up flares, urosepsis, moving to live permanently 70 miles away and constant hospital admissions just to name some of the challenges of 2016. I can honestly say sometimes it’s better not knowing what is ahead of you. 

At times during the last year I wondered if I would have the strength to survive both physically and mentally. I like to keep things positive but the year had some dark moments, while there may of been a smile on the outside there was plenty of tears, melt downs and desperate moments. There was fear and at times I was terrified even if that wasn’t always obvious. 

It would be so easy to say 2016 was  crap and just ride it off BUT that wasn’t the case. It’s so easy for us to remember the hurt, the things that went wrong but what about all the good things that happened? 

For the last couple of years I’ve made a blessings jar, it’s so easy to miss the little positives in life, the moments that make you smile, new opportunities, hopes and dreams or just some things that make life a little bit easier. I’ve noted these down (and there is a surprising amount!) and now I get a chance to remember the good parts of the last year. 


There is no doubt that 2016 has been a challenge, one I hope never to repeat. It’s a given there will be obstacles ahead in the next year but for now I’m going to take with me the positives of the last year. 

I’m so thankful for the people that just jumped on this crazy ride with me, people who believed I could make it out the other side of each disaster, who listened to the frustrations, encouraged and brought me back to reality when needed. You are awesome!

So no matter how tough the last year has been take some of the positives with you into the year ahead.. here’s to 2017!! πŸŽ‰πŸŽ‰

* The picture below shows the basic idea of the blessings jar*

2 thoughts on “Dear 2016…

Leave a Reply

